Finding quiet pools

DSCF1510

So, I’m an INFP. A sensitive snowflake, an idealist. Well, at least as determined by a loosely administered personality test at a work retreat. I’ve known it all along but now the test “proves” it. According to the link, Mr. Rogers was an INFP so I’m in good company.

DSCF1519

We had some laughs, me and those at the opposite end of the spectrum. Those extroverted, tough ones. Saying things like, “Well, that explains every conversation we’ve ever had.”

DSCF1462

Some were surprised to learn that I’m an introvert and crave alone time, time to ruminate and worry, and fret about a tiny thing or a big thing. I told them I’ve learned to be extroverted in the work world which at times covers up my introversion. But don’t we all (introverts and extroverts) adapt to circumstances so we can survive, contribute, and more?

DSCF1459

Although I very much enjoy people, public interaction quickly drains my battery. At the end of intense people days or work travel weeks with others, I want to withdraw and be alone and recharge in my home with only my family and dog.

DSCF1465

The danger is going overboard and withdrawing too much from people-centric activities. For example, as I’ve gently dipped my toes back into the community of church, I’ve realized how much I missed the human connection outside work.

DSCF1468

To jump back in to anything with both feet risks overwhelming my snowflake senses. Finding balance is key, which is of course life’s ongoing challenge with everything from spiritual to physical to mental.

DSCF1528

I like people, truly. But I embrace and acknowledge my INFP status and know that I need much alone time. Perhaps David the psalmist said it best:

God, my shepherd!
    I don’t need a thing.
You have bedded me down in lush meadows,
    you find me quiet pools to drink from.
True to your word,
    you let me catch my breath
    and send me in the right direction.”
Psalm 23: 1-3 (The Message)

4 Comments

  1. I understand where you’re coming from; being drained and needing time away from people. I’m an INFJ – the discovery of which was something of a relief after struggling in a mainly extrovert world and trying to fit in for so many years. I do find, however, that it’s not just the introvert side which is difficult, but the iNtuitive side as opposed to ‘sensing’. It means I struggle with the ‘concrete’ aspects of life (a head always in the clouds!). I don’t think I have much common sense which causes a lot of difficulties!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing. I appreciated hearing from a fellow introvert and also hearing your interesting perspective on the iNtuitive side and a “head always in the clouds” approach to life!

      Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

